Meet Melissa B.

Adoptive mom.

Dear Birthparents,

As I sit here, I struggle with the best way to express my gratitude that you are even considering me as an adoptive parent for your baby. I hope that you feel love and support from family and friends during this time of decision in your life. I know that if you choose me as your adoption match, I will make every attempt to provide you emotional support and encouragement. Although we will be moving along different paths in our lives, we will forever be linked by the love of a child.

I grew up in Vanceburg, which is a small town in Northeastern Kentucky. I always wanted to live in a larger city and over time have done so in Lexington, Kentucky; Orlando, Florida; and now just north of Cincinnati, Ohio, where I can be closer to my family.

While living in Florida, I completed my bachelor’s degree in Economics with a minor in Business. Upon graduation I changed careers and began work as a financial analyst. I’ve always loved math, so it was just a given that I would find a career that dealt with numbers! Within six months of college graduation, I began taking courses again to obtain my MBA. I am a strong believer that a solid education is very important to being successful in today’s economy. I want to encourage my child to work hard at their studies and know that although some subjects may not come easily, they can always learn from it.

After several years working as a financial analyst and then a senior financial analyst, I obtained my first managerial position with a local software development company. I’m fortunate to have a short commute to the office and flexibility to work remotely from home.

Ready to adopt
Departing on a Bahamas Cruise with my Mom

Outside of work I enjoy spending time with family and friends. These activities can include simple things such as dinner and a movie or attending a local event or music concert. I have always enjoyed trying new things and over the years I have taken on learning how to play the piano, golf, and tennis.

I am very blessed to have a wonderful family. My parents, Danny and Brenda, have supported and encouraged me throughout my life. My mom is a recently retired nurse and will always be my go-to resource for all things medical. My stepdad may not be my blood relative, but we have so many interests in common that it just feels natural.

After living in the Cincinnati area for a year, I chose to purchase a new home in the northern suburbs of the city. I love living in Morrow as it is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of city life to enjoy the quiet but still be able to enjoy many exciting activities. There are many young families with children living in the neighborhood and everyone says hello and waves as you pass by. I’m fortunate to live less than 10 miles from work so I’m not locked into a long commute each day. The local school district is excellent and Cincinnati provides many exciting adventures with the Zoo, Kings Island, lots of parks with playgrounds, and walking trails close by. My church is just around the corner and offers a lot of activities for children to enjoy. It will truly be a wonderful place for a child to grow!

Thank you for taking the time to look over my profile. I understand this is a difficult decision for you as you are making a lifelong decision for your baby. I would love the opportunity to meet you and provide you with any additional assurances you need. This child you carry will feel the love from both of our families. It is so important for a child’s development to be loved and encouraged every step of their lives. I would be incredibly blessed to share in providing this love with you. In whatever way you decide to move forward, I do wish you all the best.

With love,
Melissa B.

For more information about me, please contact Adoption Link at 1-800-643-3356.